Bits of Happiness of a Regular Commuter

Hello, hello berries! It has been a week since my last update and I have been so guilty, so I’d be doing a double post to catch up! I have been going home lately (I’m not staying on my dorm yet) and it’s surprising how many things you can observed outside inside the jeepney. If that made sense!

I’m traveling for two hours in the road and there are things I can pass by or encounter that can sometimes be very heart twitching or very heart warming. I want to skip the heart twitching part and let me talk about the things I like about transporting instead! Travel with me!

I usually start the day at six and what’s beautiful about a morning ride is a wide road! No fast and busy chimps passing each other yet! Just the jeep, you and the view! (Sometimes not really good of a view, actually.) No heavy lines and not so noisy and crowded streets, just the bits of happiness of a regular commuter. Sometimes, when I go early at 5 o’clock in the morning, I get to see the sun rise! And it’s specially beautiful when I get to spot it as I pass by the airport field opposite the sea! And when I pass by the bridge sometimes the mountain still has its blanket on- the fog. Breathtaking.

I also like to observe people inside the jeepney. Sometimes, funny things such as a passenger trying to steal some sleep (I do, too!) and end up sleeping on a stranger’s shoulders (No, I don’t). That’s creepily sweet and hilarious sometimes! And you just never know how early mornings can be sweet, because it comes with unexpected surprises too! Like this cute dog trying to peek on his passengers!

2016-06-23 10.19.31_edited2016-06-23 10.20.12_edited

So cute and just the right vibe to start a long day! Or before you leave the house you see these two cute cats peacefully enjoying their sleep! (Jealous.)

2016-06-03 08.55.50_edited

Later on, after a whole day at school, mostly spent inside the library, or the studio, I end the day late in the afternoon around 6:30 pm, this time it’s the opposite of 6 am. The lines are long, the jeeps are fast, the people are on a rush to go home! And, the diners are full. I like to observe them from the jeep’s window. How satisfied and full they look, while I sit here waiting to come home and finally eat my dinner. I like to look at the people crossing the streets, their grocery bags and I.D’s. (A creep you say!)

What I also love about late afternoons in the city is the music of harmonica lingering in thetown proper as I pass by. There’s this blind, old man who puts the show and mood for everyone. The city is not a romantic place, but the music seemed to be a love spell cast all around.

The ride is a long one, and I’m still on the road an hour after. Around seven o’clock on my way home, I will be passing by the bridge and from there the mountains are visible. The little lights on it looked like fireflies resting on a mound. It smells like a beautiful city night and salty air. The lights on the bridge looks like dancing on the calm, deep water, too. It’s scary but beautiful. I like this part of the trip because I enjoy my music the most with the view and I know that I’ll be coming home soon. This thought is my last favor on my long trip. It’s nice to imagine things and just be quite. Just guessing and observing other people. You would just never know what the ride can give or take away from you.
images (1)

©FLICKR

 

XOXO,

SomerBerry

Leave a Reply

