The Street Style

Hello, hello berries, I actually thought of school today (I had a headache) and how lucky I am (just a little bit) to avoid the pollution in the city for a day. I thought I wanted to channel some of my energy for a post, instead. At the same time, I felt bad about some of the foods I was not able to eat today in school, like how normally I picked them up for snacks time. So, forget the “my-fave-fancy-resto-is” and let us explore the ragged, street-food world of the city in-budget style! Here’s my top seven of the most famous street foods student’s (and people) in the Phil usually eat! Roll the list!

1.Barbecue

No, it’s not only in the Philippines. But, it’s so famous all over the country that, for sure, everywhere and anywhere you go, there will always be a barbecue stall! Stalls usually named like AA BBQ or Mama Linda’s BBQ, whatsoever, usually what makes it more Filipino. These stalls are usually found on busy streets just by the road. Especially on university belts, across a school and down towns! There will always be those sticks lying around! From grilled chicken intestines, feet, head, skin and blood and to more decent choices like pork meat, hotdogs and fishes! Just thinking about it makes me salivate. I’m a fanatic of barbecues to be honest! Caution though, don’t eat too much coal!

©pinterest

©cebudailynews

2. Tempura, Fish Ball, Squid Roll, Kwek-Kwek and Ngohiong

Where will I even start of telling you guys how many of the student population here in the Phil loves these street foods so much? I think there’s always ngohiong house and tempura vendors everywhere! In case, you guys don’t know what ngohiong is, I am not really the person you should ask. Ngohiong is my least favorite among all and I usually don’t pick them. But they look like long lumpia, just lumpia wrappers with fillings inside it which for some amazing reasons actually tastes different than lumpia! I think I’m actually misleading you guys for such a lame description, so feel free to correct me if ever! Haha. Anyways, except from ngohiongs, there’s also a huge love of street tempura, fish ball and squid rolls in the country! Plus those colorful kwek-kwek which is actually just quail’s egg wrapped in flour with food coloring and then fried which amazingly again tastes good especially with sweet and hot sauce. One of my personal faves too!

Kwek-Kwek

©lutuingbahay

Fish ball, Tempura and Kwek-Kwek

©eskongkong

Ngohiong

©Cebu-tourism

3. Siomai

Siomai, together with tempuras and others, is actually very in for those student’s in tight budget. There are those siomai carts that always stops by my school everyday. And believe it or not, whether it’s 3 meters away from the highway or literally by the end of the sidewalk, students are always in line for it! That’s how I ♥ Siomai totally rocked it!

©morefoodadventures

4. Fried Chicken and Pork Chop with Puso (Hanging rise)!

Alright, don’t compare this to McDonald’s or whatever, because there is nothing compare to chicken and pork chops cooked and eaten on the street! I know, you might be stopping right here, realizing I’m gross but that’s just how it is! This is not for the weak of heart andstomach, so don’t. It seems like all the street has to offer actually contributes a lot to how many people love eating these foods. It’s like there’s something special eating along the road, something the street adds to the wonderful tastes of these fried delis. Ok, whatever the street actually adds but who does not love food for a cheap price, anyway? Get dirty sometimes! Just kidding!

PTDC0029

PTDC0018

©sugbu

5. Banana Cue and Hot Cakes

Ok, so there is no question about this. Hot cakes are just street pan cakes that are so damn yellow. And, we all love bananas, probably. And we love it even more if its fried and coated with caramelized sugar. Just in case you haven’t tried it yet, here’s the recipe:

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 large bunch (yellow) bananas (15-20)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • oil for frying
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Heat the oil over medium low heat. Add the brown sugar and wait until the sugar starts to caramelize.
  2. Place the bananas in the oil and fry them with the brown sugar so until they are covered with the sticky brown sugar and a deep golden color.
  3. Drain on paper towels and serve on individual skewers.

©pinchofyum.com

©tripadvisor

Hot cake

©tenminutes

6. Taho (warm tofu plus a sugary sweet syrup)

This is literally one of my fave morning, afternoon and evening treat. Whether its a cold or hot weather, for me taho does not go out of style. Just delicious and healthy, too! I can’t even explain it, I just love it so much.

©eyelaykpinas

7. Buko juice (Coconut Milk)

Who does not love a cheap, tasty thirst quencher after all? The water of coconut plus sweet milk is just one of the best invented juice drink ever! No wonder the everyone in the country whether Filipino or foreign loves it. In fact it’s close to us because we grow lots of coconut trees here in the Philippines, being a tropical country!

©kontedstories

So, there’s so much fun everywhere with food right? Whether its from a resto or simply just from street stalls. Exercise your Autonomy as an individual by eating something new, something different and having fun with food and experiences!

XOXO,

SomerBerry

 

One thought on “The Street Style

Leave a Reply

